Best airbrush for around £100 (painting miniatures mostly)

A

AbbyPaul

Hi all, new to the forums and was looking for a bit of advice: Next week I plan on buying a new airbrush (I own a compressor already but am very new to actual airbrushing) I paint miniatures (GW mostly) and have a budget of around £100-£110 for the brush so any thoughts on the best brush for me please?

I was thinkking of the H&S Evolution silverline (if the guy at buy painted can get such incredible results with it then a total novice like me should be able to get some smooth base coats with it surely?

Anyway, thanks in advance for any advice, I live in the UK by the way :)

I've done GW miniatures myself (a long time back :untroubled:). A H&S evo is a verry decent airbrush and should enable you to do basecoats and some color/detail work on the larger models.

If you are going to stick to basecoats only a cheaper gun will probably also do but if you plan to actualy paint with it I'd advise an A brand (of which H&S is one). If you (partly) want to paint the little soldier models with the brush also you might want to consider saving up for a H&S that can also hold the 0,15 needle /nozzle (as far as I'm aware the silverline can't but I could be wrong there)

ps Don't expect to get that smooth basecoat instantly, you will need to practice a bit.
pss Someone will probably draw your attention to the introduction section of this forum soon :tickled_pink:

Wow thank you for such a quick reply, friendly place you guys have here and I'm glad I found it :)

Is the 2 in 1 version of teh H&S brush worth the extra £30 or so? Is it basically the same brush but with different needles (that I could buy and add to it later) or is the actual brush itself different?