ComArt Paints? Airbrush? Reducer? Air pressure?

O

olvi

Hi there guys ..
I have some questions about this paints because I cannot find a good ratio, or maybe I do but I do not have the control I want on the airbrush.

I use an Iwata Eclipse hp cs .35. Air pressure 20-30 psi.

I use the paints straight out the bottle or 1:1 paint with distilled water but the second choice is a pain in the ass because of the tip dry. After 2 sprays the tip dry appears.

Can you share your experience with this type of paints? please.

thank you in advance.

Hi, im only a beginner to airbrushing this year. I have had good success with com-art paints straight from the bottle. I use an iwata eclipse airbrush and i only have the air pressure at around 5 psi.

I find i can go slower then when painting.

Hope this helps.

Sorry Olvi, never used this brand, if the paint is flowing well, but building up tip dry very quickly then maybe lower air pressure could help.

i have heard someone he is using this paints at a very low pressure, I have tried that two days ago but no success. I mean it sprays but just pigment dots ... I will keep practice .. thank you for your reply .. it helps

I've been using it for about 2 years now and I love it. I never use it without their own medium though. Always about a 2:1 (paint:medium) mixture and then mix it further with water. Sometimes up to 15:1. Then I can go super fine and pressure as low as 5psi. At this ratio it is very transparent and I built layers to get to my final colour.