Complete airbrush beginner - NE England

C

Carlos_dfc

Hi all,
As per the title, I'm a complete beginner with airbrushes, based in NE England (Near Darlington)

I've always sketched, since I was a kid (I'm now fast approaching 50), and have been a keen amateur astronomer - also since I was very young - so naturally, I often sketch the views through my telescopes.
Then a couple of years ago, I got back into another childhood hobby, scale modelling, and was painting with 'ye olde hairye sticke' until a couple of months ago, when I bought an airbrush/compressor kit just to try it out.
The compressor seems OK, it has a small tank, a water-trap, a regulator with guage, and works pretty well.
The airbrush however, wasn't great - a generic no-brand 'made in Taiwan' - but it did work, and at least it was a dual-action with gravity feed.
I say "did", and "was", because it is no more - I dropped it while cleaning, and broke the needle-chuck.
I'd only finished 5 aircraft kits with it, but already knew I wanted something a little better (without spending TOO much) - and I learned the lesson to go with a recognised brand, if only for spare-parts availability.

Anyways - long story short - and a Harder & Steenbeck Ultra 2-in-1 arrived this morning (well, actually, yesterday morning, it's currently about 4:45 am here).
It may only be entry-level among 'serious' airbrushes, but after playing with it this/yesterday afternoon, it makes my previous one look like a toy.
I've already watched the H&S supplied DVD, and have been inspired to maybe (after a few months of getting used to it) try to amalgamate the astronomy, and astro-sketching, with the airbrush and having a go at some 'space-scape' pictures of telescopic views...

I expect I'll have lots of questions in a few days, after I've had a scooch around the forum articles.

regards
Karl

Welcome from Canada, you've come to the right place lots of helpful folks here just hitching to help out. So ask away :)