Complete beginner - Whites and Paper combinations

delalio

Gravity Guru
Hello all,

I am completely new to airbrushing art, and so that may be reflected in my question.
(I got a decent airbrush to base coat models, with the intention to move more into art, which I am currently trying.)

So I've gone through tens of hours of youtube videos and tutorials etc, and have ventured into the more artistic painting with my airbrush. (For reference I am using an Iwata HPC+, with a decent, but noisy, garage-type compressor with 6L tank.)

I've done many dot, line, dagger stroke, blended dot and blended line tutorials, and painted a few different eyes and the like too, but all have been single colour paintings, into a cheapy artists sketchbook. It's like a thick, rough-ish card.

So, after that introduction, my actual question is below:

Why can't I get white's to spray and be visible? For better textures, definition, etc, as per all the tutorials.

I'm assuming it's something to do with the paint / reducing / air pressure / paper combo.
Basically, I tried on some really crappy, cheap, black paper, and it took like 100 coats to get anything visible. Ended up going to a red and just piling it onto the page.

Then I tried the clouds tutorial on the AirbrushTutor youtube.
For this I used the following:
- My artists sketchbook.
- Golden Fluid Acrylics (Colbalt blue, and Titanium white, Carbon black)
- Multiple air pressures, and many different layers of paint.

I am just not getting any white to take to the page. Even over the blue, and grays I've put down. It is spraying out, (I tested on my hand, and various other surfaces, and it's definitely spraying the paint, and quite a lot if I want it to!)

Do I need to base-coat the paper, maybe put down a clear lacquer, use different paper, or have I missed something more basic?

Thanks in advance.

Delalio.