complete noob looking for guidance

Clutch

Needle-chuck Ninja
Hi all I guess this is how it all begins..

I first should state that I have stumbled upon this forum by deciding that I would like to add airbrushing into my tool for cake decorating. I don't have much of and art back ground aside from working with food but I can draw a very small bit if I really really really REALLY work at it , and then it looks slightly better than if a kindergartner had drawn it.

This being said, I ran across a tutorial done by Airbrushtutor of the space scene and thought HEY!! I think I can handle doing something similar to that. SOLD!! IM IN!!

Im working on currently getting my gear, I dont have a single piece yet but i should have a make shift studio with working paints with in the month. Now, this brings me to my topic

I get that I need to work dots, lines, daggers, fades and blends.. but where do I go from there? what do I practice on? Do i just cover a page in dots? then Lines then both ect??? I know I need to actually start spraying to really understand anything, but since I have never really felt a need to pursue art aside from decorating and food plating I guess I am not understanding what I should be doing?

How does one whom is artistically challenged begin to become less handicapped? For lack of a better way of saying it... Whats the fastest way to improve my lack of artistic confidence and skill?

Thank you in advance and I hope to be able to show you all something that doesn't make me sad and you all angry in the near future :)

Welcome clutch. Use the dots and daggers as practice and warm up exercises. Download 'the eye' and you'll be able to use the daggers to create something. Then there's snow leopard for practicing dots and blending.
From there put your mind to what you'd like to see on a cake and put it onto paper to practice.
If it helps - I'm in the same boat as you, total newb looking to add airbrushing to their skill toolbox.

Last edited: