Complete noob with bags of enthusiasm

C

Coley

Hi, the name's Coley and I'm from Merseyside, NW England. I've always loved art and creating things and it's always been a hobby I've come back to whenever I get the time. Mainly pencil, charcoal and watercolour. All self taught and my techniques are probably awful but it works for me and I really enjoy it. :welcoming:

I stumbled across some airbrushed art in Liverpool and was really impressed. I didn't realise the level of detail you could achieve so I looked up videos on YouTube, came across some amazingly talented people and was instantly hooked in.

Dying to give a try I rushed into getting one of those cheapo airbrush kits (with the ropey compressor with no tank that can't make its mind up about what pressure it wants and the white label airbrushes with a bite on the trigger that seems to change every time you pull it back). Needless to say they're a bit naff when if comes to freehand stuff but I'm still giving it a good go and having fun with stencils etc.

Gonna stick it out a couple more weeks with these but will be looking to upgrade pretty sharpish.

On that note, if anyone can point me in the direction of a decent compressor and airbrush combo for freehand art it would be hugely appreciated!!!

Thanks all, and looking forward to joining in the community.

P.S. Came here from your YouTube channel. Loving the vids! Keep 'em coming. :emmersed:

Hey coley welcome mate. ... 2nd member from Merseyside this week!!! Shouldn't you all be watching the football while the goings good.
Your story is pretty familiar and exactly howi started... if you can stay away from kits. .. airbrush and comp together can be overpriced and you don't always get the best brush. ... tend to be mediocre brush and comp. ... realistically what could you spend ona brush and comp...

Welcome to the forum from the US

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

Hi Coley,
Welcome to the forum.