For Every Airbrush Artist!

Want to see more forum, less google ads ? Then register for free

Register

Compressor

Discussion in 'Compressors' started by Joe pulvirenti, Sep 6, 2021.


  1. Joe pulvirenti

    Joe pulvirenti Double Actioner

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2021
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    67
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    Hi there thinking of adding my current hose to my air brush another 3 metres is this going to affect any pressure to the brush total 7 metres might be a stupid question.
    jord001 and SiRoxx like this.
  2. SiRoxx

    SiRoxx Party Boy UK Style Staff Member Mod Very Likeable!

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2017
    Messages:
    5,953
    Likes Received:
    8,298
    Trophy Points:
    126
    There’s no such thing as a stupid question Buddy. Because the airbrush consumption is so low, I wouldn’t think you would have any problem at all as long as the compressor is up to it. What compressor do you have?


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    jord001 likes this.
  3. Joe pulvirenti

    Joe pulvirenti Double Actioner

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2021
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    67
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    G'day siroxx I have a sparmax 620 2 litre tank
    jord001 and SiRoxx like this.
  4. SiRoxx

    SiRoxx Party Boy UK Style Staff Member Mod Very Likeable!

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2017
    Messages:
    5,953
    Likes Received:
    8,298
    Trophy Points:
    126
    Cool, that’s a nice looking piece of kit. My guess would be that you’ll be fine with the longer hose. If you had a small compressor and we’re maxing it out with a mini spray gun, then that would be different. But I think the airbrush will be fine.
    I’m going to put and emphasis on the word “guess” lol. But if it were me I’d give it a try.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    jord001 likes this.
  5. Karl Becker

    Karl Becker Mac-Valve Maestro! Very Likeable!

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2020
    Messages:
    583
    Likes Received:
    1,261
    Trophy Points:
    91
    Location:
    Northern IL, USA
    Once the hose initially fills with pressure, there should be no difference from that point forward. The only concern I might have is that more hose could introduce the possibility of more moisture in the line. Adding a moisture trap at the brush end would take care of it, though.
    jord001 likes this.
  6. JackEb

    JackEb The Dragon Hunter Staff Member Admin

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2012
    Messages:
    11,555
    Likes Received:
    14,629
    Trophy Points:
    126
    Location:
    Mt Barker, South Australia
    Have you considered a ‘remote’ regulator at your desk ?
    One hose to the desk regulator then just plug in your airbrush hose to the regulator. You can have your compressor set to 60psi and adjust the desk one to whatever you like ?
    upload_2021-9-7_7-13-18.jpeg
    jord001 likes this.
  7. Joe pulvirenti

    Joe pulvirenti Double Actioner

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2021
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    67
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    Hi Jacky that is a great idea I will go and get my self a remote regulator any suggestion on which one not to pricey my compressor is the sparmax 620 do i use one of the outlet to add the regulator that would mean I could only use one airbrush which doesn't matter to me.
    jord001 likes this.
  8. JackEb

    JackEb The Dragon Hunter Staff Member Admin

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2012
    Messages:
    11,555
    Likes Received:
    14,629
    Trophy Points:
    126
    Location:
    Mt Barker, South Australia
    If you want to use more than one brush you can add a manifold (with independent mac valves if you don’t need ‘psi numbers’ )
    Any reg should work but some of the super cheap ones are less than ideal
    A couple of different types, sometimes called airbrush splitters

    upload_2021-9-7_10-45-18.jpeg upload_2021-9-7_10-45-18.jpeg
    jord001 likes this.

Share This Page