Compressors....dilemma

sevastra

Needle-chuck Ninja
I am sorry for the complete newbie questions from me constantly! I am looking at air compressors, and I'm not sure which one to go with

These are the ones i am considering:

http://www.coastairbrush.com/proddetail.asp?prod=4610A

http://www.coastairbrush.com/proddetail.asp?prod=4620A

http://www.coastairbrush.com/proddetail.asp?prod=6310

I would like not to have to spend the 395 for a compressor if i don't have to, but my knowledge on them is zero. Just looking for opinions on these, and what other people are using. Whats the difference etc? Thank you guys so much!

Also, why is CA Air Tools 6310 Oil-Free 1HP 6.3 Gallon Air Tank, less expensive than the CA Air Tools 4610A Oil-Free 1HP 4.6 Gallon Air Tank , when the first has a bigger tank?? I'm really confused.

Last edited:
You don't have to spend an arm or a leg for a compressor especially starting out. Just go to your local hardware store and get a small compressor 2 to 5 gal. capacity and get an adapter ( 1/8" to 1/4" to connect airbrush hose. Make sure the tank has a drain in bottom so it wont rust. Can usually get one for $50 to $80.

Any of those would be great . Are you gonna spray large items? Maybe ? Only thing I can say is get the biggest compressor you can afford. Hell a 1610 would be fine, just add a cheap external air storage tank later if you need it. Thats what i would do. You can also catch the CAT compressors on their Ebay page, or at Wayfair, also Home Depot on line. Shop around. The GMC syclone compressors are also the same thing with a different label. Made by CAT even.