Cordyk's Chrome corner tutorial

Cordyk

Sheriff Woody (Admington)
View attachment SM1.pdf

Hello people, so who’s up for a little Chrome Lettering! You are….good then have a bash at this!
P1030138 (1024x768).jpg
Ok, so this little tutorial/challenge is mainly aimed at the complete beginner or anybody who has never done fancy pants Chrome lettering before. It is more of a technical challenge rather than a painting one, which is why it’s great for beginners to learn some important cutting and masking skills, plus you can achieve something quite easily that looks really rather cool and you can show of to your mates!. This is also a good thing early on in your airbrushing journey and a confidence builder.
I have tried a few different ways of doing it, and this is the way I have found to be the quickest and easiest way, when you become competent in this method this tutorial should only take about an hour to complete.
I am not saying that this is the only way and you yourself may find another method you like, but for the sake of this tutorial/challenge I would like you to try this method and show us your results!

So, this is what you are going to need:
P1030121 (1024x768).jpg
A good craft knife
Some masking film(frisket)
Cutting mat
A3 size or equivalent paper/board (200gsm+ is preferred)
Masking tape
Pencil
(Steady hand)J
1 or 2 copies of the downloadable exercise sheet.(see attached pdf at the top of the page)

Ok, let’s get cracking, find yourself a good flat surface to work on, place your paper on your cutting mat and a sheet of mask (frisk) over that.
Now place you printed of copy of the letters(SM) in the centre over the mask, it’s now a good idea just to secure everything down with a bit of masking tape and mark with a pencil the position of the corners for a later stage.
P1030122 (1024x768).jpg