Direction Direction?

A

Arty

On a previous post I mentioned that I was given an airbrush kit for a present of which I am very grateful. I have been practicing my dots and daggers etc and I am now at that stage of having to make decisions. The kit I have is not a quality one and seeing that I am a budding artist and progressing well with brushes and different media I would like to do the same with airbrushing. I must admit I have been watching so many videos and reading so many articles I have got what's known as "Information Overload". The compressor I have gives me a max 20psi and I have been told an artist needs 40-50psi?. I know I will also need a good airbrush as I will need to be doing very fine lines and blends. The art I will be starting with will be on canvas & board etc and then hopfully progressing on to metals as well. So I would greatly appreciate it if you could recommend the type of airbrushes and compressors I should be buying at this stage.
Thanks
Arty

40-5o psi is only really necessary for syphon feed brushes, or gravity our side feed if you where to use them for th shirts ad you have to rally hammer down the paint. if you over reduce your paint you can spray as low as 3-5 psi.....don't forget that is pounds per square inch, you are spreading through a nozzle which is a fraction of a millimetre so the pressure is still there enough to force paint through.....compressor wise, you want something with a tank, obviously the bigger the tank the better and bigger the motor the better but with a bigger motor comes bigger noise.....maybe save your money til you can get a nice silent compressor like bambi (of nose will be a factor) if nose is no trouble then world is your oyster......badger make a great range of brushes, I would highly recommend the renegade series....I have the renegade velocity myself and its so great detail brush.....high spec and great value