Dry Tip

S

Sketchy Pete

I have a tip for removing the dreaded build up at the needle known as tip dry that we will all experience at some point and sometimes quite often whilst working away. This only what I do and I'm far from an artist (unless Bullstoole counts). I'm sure some airbrushes including the fine needled ones this may not be such a great idea to apply but its what I use with my Iwata .35 HPC+ & Eclipse .5 airbrushes and so far it hasn't seemed to do any damage. I generally replace parts from dropping the airbrush onto a hard surface I don't think I will ever need to replace parts from being worn out they don't last that long unfortunately.

In my left hand (my supporting hand) I hold a soft bristled tooth brush. When I hear the tell tale noise or paint stops flowing I AIM AWAY from my peice and APPLY AIR ONLY whilst dragging the needle through the bristles. I find this to be a quick and simple way of removing the build up and quickly get on with my work. Worth mentioning here that I do this with the needle cap off but I guess it may work with it on. I do most of my working with it off.. Hope this helps

It's certainly a handy tip, but I do the same with a piece of kitchen roll in my supporting hand, every now and then when doing dagger strokes I accidentally shake some paint out of the cup, I can quickly clean that a away while working, I find I can even wipe my nose if necessary, and all this without having to stop.

Most of the time I work with very little paint in the cup, when I hear the tell tale noise I generally pick off the tip straight away and then a short blow-back, if it becomes persistent I simply ditch the paint run some cleaner through and put in some new paint, I use small squeeze bottles for all my colours with small squares of old pantihose over the necks for filtering.