Gaahleri - has anyone heard of this brand?

Status
Not open for further replies.
I work in the wire industry although its on the non ferrous side so the tolerance may be different. Some of the wire we recieving as samples is truly shocking! Going to places you least expect to have poor tolerances such as medical and space sectors.

Our equipment is required to perform with wires +-3% of the wire diameter. The wire in general is a tighter tolerance than that so there is a margin for them.

I can tell you that the Japanese firms we supply are without doubt the fussiest and their tolerances are tight. I believe as a whole industry in Japan seems to strive for perfection, which can only be admired.

I work in the wire industry although its on the non ferrous side so the tolerance may be different. Some of the wire we recieving as samples is truly shocking! Going to places you least expect to have poor tolerances such as medical and space sectors.

Our equipment is required to perform with wires +-3% of the wire diameter. The wire in general is a tighter tolerance than that so there is a margin for them.

I can tell you that the Japanese firms we supply are without doubt the fussiest and their tolerances are tight. I believe as a whole industry in Japan seems to strive for perfection, which can only be admired.
Though if we're after precision, you will likely not be buying wires but instead shafts. Those are made to precision and have tight tolerances in size and straightness.

An example would be a 1mm * 200mm stainless steel shaft from McMaster for $7. Diameter tolerance is -0.005mm to 0mm, and straightness tolerance is 0.12 mm per 300 mm.