Getting black really dark

Pascal-A

Gravity Guru
Hi,
I just started with airbrushing. It's difficult when you just start with this technique but it's also awesome.
Something I can't achieve so far is getting my black really black.
The darkest I can make is what I call 'dirty transparant'.
Is it possible to get it as dark as an alcohol marker? Really opaque?
The paint I use now is:
Com art opaque black.

Com-art is not the blackest black I can think of. A lot will depend on the surface you are painting on. On a very absorbent surface it will look like a gray-ish, for sure. It helps a lot if the final piece is clear coated, especially with a stain or gloss clear, as it will blacken right up.

I have a love/hate relationship with Createx products, so tend to shy away from recommending them to a complete beginner. They have a learning curve all their own, on top of trying to figure out an airbrush.

For ease of use, the Com-art is a good choice. I would also say, perhaps E'tac, as it is very good straight from the bottle, or even with a little water for reduction. I will also warn ahead of time, that both black and white can be tough colors to work with. They tend to have higher pigment loads, and larger pigment grains to opaqueness, which in turn makes them harder to spray. In certain pint lines, there will also be colos that tend to be a challenge - but, you will discover those in time.

I really should say, don't be afraid to try anything, and everything you can get your hands on ;). It is really difficult to tell from one person to another, what they will get along with. Only through trial and error will one really find what works best for them, in their individual circumstances.

I use Golden High Flow. I add a drop or two of blue to it to make it "blacker". The points they make about the substrate ae important. It may also be that you will find an opaque does a better job than the transparent.