Gloss paint suggestions

Petie

Young Tutorling
Newbie here. Getting back in to scale model rocketry. Hoping to paint using an airbrush if I can find paints.

I want high gloss pure basic colors - white, black, red, pure yellow, light and dark grey mostly. A few other minor use colors like orange and brown. My experience has all been with rattle cans but since I will be doing this indoors am wanting to go airbrush route. I can get solvent based gloss paints like Testors and Tamiya in small bottles but not familiar with water based. It seems the acrylic paints are not known for being glossy pure colors when airbrushed? I don’t want anything semi transparent only solid thick color that I am used to with spray cans. I know the solvent based are somewhat more difficult to clean up and take longer to dry so acrylic would be nice but just not finding solid colors it seems. Any specific brands I should look for? I have looked online at the normal acrylics but not seeing what I consider solid deep colors in what I want. Any bright ideas?

I am totally new to airbrushing and have not purchased equipment yet as want to be sure I can achieve the finish and colors I want. Equipment will likely be an H&S Evolution 2in1 gun with a Sparmax TC-620X compressor. Might get an H&S Colani for larger stuff later. Going to set up a small booth that exhaust fans out a basement window.
Thanks for your help! Pete

Hi Petie. That’s a good question. I’m not sure if many waterbased paint that dry to a gloss finish. I know plenty of Matt or Satin, but they all require a gloss top coat. I’m sure somebody will be along shortly to help.
In the mean time jump over to the “Introductions” section and start a quick thread. It really helps to have an idea of where folks are from and what they’re aiming for. That way we can make recommendations based on what’s available in your country / location.
Welcome aboard.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk