Grey paint shade

L

littlerick

Got my new ab now i gotta do some painting... I know as a noob, I'm going to dark to fast... Should I use a light grey to start and add black as i go, or, should i make a dark grey and practice lighter use of it?

It's a case of what ever rocks your boat Rick, but I would recommend as I now do and put reducer into your cup first and gradually add the tiniest drops of paint until you get to a rate of building up that suits you, assuming you are test driving your new toy, just play around, as soon as you hit the sweet spot you will know, everyone is unique and have their own little preferences and much of this is based on or related to what they paint and what they paint on.

I think I will go light.. tend to get a super splodge now n then. makes a bloody mess!

I think I will go light.. tend to get a super splodge now n then. makes a bloody mess!

That's not problem, but you are looking to get yourself into a situation where can paint, blend and shade without giving to much thought to it, this only happens with practice, which in turn will also help you control the heavy hand problem, when you can do all of that with one colour then colour shifting doesn't become an issue, changing from light grey through to black can certainly cause you a shift problem since all the shades in between can contain different levels of blue in the mix.

It's always handy to study the behaviour of paints and colours during practice, since if it happens during a serious painting it can be soul destroying especially if an unwanted shift or effect happens close to the end.

I agree with all the above.
I do recommend using lightest possible shade first, adding blends and shadows to create effect.
When you get tottally blanked out doing dots an daggers, try this little excercise.
Grab a Math-0-mat and simply do some different sized globes on a blank peice of paper.
Start out really light, remembering to leave some of the area blank.