Guide to Acrylic Modelling paints.

T

The Cream Enjin

I wanted to contribute something to the forum. Please forgive me. This is my first time doing something like this.

In this guide I hope to give you a few facts to help you decide which brand of acrylic paint is best for your needs for new comers to the hobby and maybe some returning after a break, to help you gain the best, most accurate (if that's what you are looking for) finish to your model.

I intend on adding to this thread progressively.

No waffling.

Let's get the facts!

I like facts!
(sorry)

Tamiya

Xtracrylix

Gunze

Vallejo Model Air

These are the 4 main paint brands I have come to love, hate and persevere with.

I will do my best to Inform you (in as short a way as possible) of my own experiences with each brand through my 10 or so years building models.

Tamiya:

Can be thinned with Tamiya X20A thinner. This is probably your best bet if you are new to the hobby! It can be thinned with windscreen wiper fluid, usually the radioactive green stuff or Isopropyl(rubbing) alcohol. It sprays just as nice but the gloss colours flatten out.
It will NOT thin down with water! Which is strange for an acrylic paint. Do not try this. You will end up with a colour cup clogged with gunk and tears.

Hailing from Japan, Tamiya acrylic is the most forgiving of all model paints. Mix it 50/50 with X20A (maybe a little bit more...think the milk rule..(maybe semi skimmed for models because you need it to stick!)
It dries hard and smooth if you have mixed it right.

The down side is that compared with other model paint, it doesn't come in many colours. (ok for us with a colour wheel aye? ;) and it mostly dries flat. which is a downside for model builders. It is preferable to decal over a gloss finish. Well it helps with your sanity if you do! (the wet decal can be manuvered more easily over a gloss finish).