Gun advice - SATAjet???

S

shenanigans

Hi there. Hope this is the right thread. I'm a fine artist and don't have any experience with airbrush, though I'm looking to start using it. What I need right now, however, is a tool that is something between an airbrush pen and a paint gun of the sort you would use for car painting. Essentially, I need something that gives me the kind of coverage I might be able to get from a spray can (which I have mostly been using until now), but not as much as I'd get from an auto gun. A guy at the auto paint dealership I shop at recommended a SATAjet gun. He said it can give spray can-style coverage but can also shrink right down to a fine line, like an airbrush pen. However, there seem to be a few guns by SATA called SATAjet (they're also really expensive). Can anyone recommend a gun that might be appropriate, whether SATA or some other brand? Also, I have a 60 gallon compressor which I am currently using to spray primer, auto paint and clear coat. Would I need a smaller compressor or could I use my 60 Gallon Husky? In case you're wondering, my work is styrofoam melted with solvents and then treated with resin to create contrasts between the "melted" areas and the flat surfaces. I need something that can get right into those fiddly melted crevices!

Any suggestions very welcome
Brendan

need ophoto 4.JPGphoto 4.JPG photo copy.JPG FullSizeRender-2.jpg photo 4.JPG photo copy.JPG FullSizeRender-2.jpg photo copy.JPG FullSizeRender-2.jpg

Looking at the size of the piece you are working on, (they look large) I'd suggest a .8 HVLP (High Volume Low Pressure) spray gun (brand not important). It will run off your current compressor with the psi set to the correct pressure for the gun / paint you are using.
Over spray will need to be controlled either by lowering the pressure or masking off what you already have.