Hello from Holland

• Thread starter mauricesteenbergen
  • Start date
M

mauricesteenbergen

Hi all,

My name is Maurice Steenbergen and I currently live near Utrecht in The Netherlands. I graduated from graphic design school in 1991 and have been creating artwork, music and film professionally ever since. Currently I'm a freelance producer / director / editor of music videos and documentary films here in The Netherlands. Main reason for me to get into airbrushing: I want an analogue hobby. Too much computers and stress in my life, and I've been really wanting to create some artwork that doesn't involve any clients and deadlines.

I've been airbrushing digitally on Wacoms since 1993, but never got my hands on a real airbrush until a few months ago. I took a few introduction lessons and got my own gear last week. I've been practicing my dots, lines and daggers for a good 3 hours a day since then. I'm using the Airbrush Tutor's tutorials and the DVD from Daniel Power. I notice a steady progress, which I love :)

Finally the gear I bought (from Airbrush Almere): Iwata HP-C Plus airbrush, Hansa HTC20A silent compressor, Createx Classic paints, a stencil burner and some Mylar. I use a magnetic whiteboard/flipboard as an easel.

Thanks for all the useful information on this forum, I enjoy it a lot.

Have a great day,
Maurice.

Thanks Jim, might be a while before I feel confident enough to post some work. I'm just a week into practice mode now, should take a while before I pick up some precision :)

Welcome home Maurice, Looks like you have started on the right foot.
Depending on what canvas you are working on I would look into Wicked or Illustration both made by Createx, Classis (Standard) Createx is design as t-shirt paint and to be used through a .5 airbrush set up.

Thanks for the tip Mr. Micron. I thought Createx Classic was some sort of allround paint. My canvas is paper, I'll definitely give the Wicked and Illustration paints a go next order.