Hello from sunny Puerto Rico

tatocorvette

Mac-Valve Maestro!
Hello,

My name is Ismael. I'm from Puerto Rico. Glad to join this forum.
A summary of my story: I have been building scale models all my life since I was a kid back in the 70s. I graduated engineering college in 1993. At that time, a graphics artist at the University, my good friend Carlos who is now happily retired, also a scale modeler, allowed us students to hang out in his office. We shared the hobby and even had a small club. Among many other things, he showed us the basics of airbrushing. It was an eye opener. I was bringing projects to his office to paint (car bodies, airplane fuselages, etc.). He even allowed me to take his personal airbrush home for a few days. I was hooked for life! That airbrush was a Badger 150. By the way, he still owns it and uses it. I graduated and was looking for a job. I could not afford a complete Badger 150 kit of my own just yet. Somebody recommended me to take a look at Harbor Freight Tools mail order catalog. I found there a low cost airbrush that was surprisingly similar in specs to the Badger 150 for under $20 (I think it was $19.95). It was a Central Pneumatics 1500. We discussed and concluded "I'll buy it until I can get my own 150". Well, lo and behold, 30 years later to today, that airbrush is still my one and only. Best ever! It still performs like day one and never missed a beat! Of course, part of the reason is my religious ritual of fully disassembly and clean after each use.