Help desperately needed. Airbrush paint/compressor issues

C

Cargodog

Hi all,

I'm completely new to this medium. I've decided to give it a og, 'cause (eventually) I wanna do some murals on my kids walls (mostly disney characters). I've done a bit of research, and decided I didn't need to spend much money on initial setup. That may have been a mistake.

COMPRESSOR ISSUES:

Due to the fact that I live in an area where airbrush supplies/equipment is limited, I needed to buy my stuff from the U.S. Unfortunately I got a bad compressor from Amazon. Now I have purchased a 3/4 HP compressor. I think it's an overkill at 125 psi, but it's all I could find here. It has a tank, and a db level I'm happy with. However, it fills the tank to 125 psi, so I need a good regulator. The one I have now is either 40-50 psi, or nothing. In other words, no fine tuning. Is there a regulator out there that will allow me to fine tune the pressure, so I won't get more than, say 25 psi coming out of my airbrush? At the moment, I get 125 psi (full tank) pressure when I release air through my airbrush, that then settles to whatever my regulator is set to, if I keep the air flowing. Is that how it works on all compressors? Ie. I have to release the initial pressure, before actually airbrushing? I hope someone can point me in the right direction.

PAINT ISSUES: