Help with airbrush not spraying with needle cap off?

T

telly100

Hi All..
Im new to airbrushing just bought a Iwata hp-cs. Have been practicing and wanted to try fine lines when I remove the needle safty cap I get no paint flow except spurts. If I install cap it works Great.

Have no clue why this is happening.

Thanks for any help.

Telly

Im not positive that its the needle cap your taking off. You maybe taking the nozzle cap off, or both at the same time and not now it like i did when i started. When you take the nozzle cap off there is no airflow to push the paint until it it balls up on the needle enough for the air to hit it, there for it comes in spurts.
Take a close look and see if the piece your taking off can separate. If you could take a picture of it for us, it will help. Hope this helps.

Hi Seamonkey, my parts book is calling it needle cap? its the small cap at end of brush over the needle in front of nozzle cap.

My guess is that when you take off the needle protector crown, your also loosening the the nozzle cap a little, when it is loose it will move backwards and forwards and this cause spurting, when you put your crown back, both pieces will tighten up at the same time, that's the only possible reason I could imagine why it works fine when its on.

Hi Seamonkey, my parts book is calling it needle cap? its the small cap at end of brush over the needle in front of nozzle cap.

I use the same hp-cs, sometimes mine will stick together when i take the needle cap off. I was just thinking a pic of the cap in your hand would help me determine if this is the problem. Madbrush may be onto something as well, if the nozzle cap isn't sealed properly its allowing the air to swirl under the cap rather than forcing it out the end of the needle.