For Every Airbrush Artist!

Want to see more forum, less google ads ? Then register for free

Register

Help with my TC-20

Discussion in 'Compressors' started by SwtFlamingo, Jun 29, 2019.


  1. SwtFlamingo

    SwtFlamingo Guest

    Hi all,

    Hope you can help. I have a Master TC-20 a few years old but hardly used. It's been in storage, went to use it the other night... Everything was fine then all of a sudden the motor stops and of course no air. The power light is on, but nothing.

    I let it sit for a couple days just plugged it in and tried it again... and of course nothing. It seems to have power but nothing else.

    Do you have any ideas?

    Thanks!
  2. Robbyrockett2

    Robbyrockett2 Air-Valve Autobot! Very Likeable!

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2017
    Messages:
    4,313
    Likes Received:
    4,450
    Trophy Points:
    126
    Location:
    Jacksonville, NC
    what do you mean by it seems to have power?
    If the motor stopped whats telling you that?
  3. markjthomson

    markjthomson AKA QuickDraw and very happy #nobrushleftbehind Staff Member Admin SuperMod

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2014
    Messages:
    7,729
    Likes Received:
    7,677
    Trophy Points:
    126
    Location:
    Auckland New Zealand
    Hmmmm... might need some more information... what is also polite is an intro please... Welcome dragon.jpg
  4. SwtFlamingo

    SwtFlamingo Guest

    The on/off switch is lit.
  5. SwtFlamingo

    SwtFlamingo Guest

    I started opening it up just googling anything I see that might be replacable.

    Attached Files:

  6. SwtFlamingo

    SwtFlamingo Guest

    On top is a pressure control switch...could that be a possible culprit?
  7. Robbyrockett2

    Robbyrockett2 Air-Valve Autobot! Very Likeable!

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2017
    Messages:
    4,313
    Likes Received:
    4,450
    Trophy Points:
    126
    Location:
    Jacksonville, NC
    The most likely candidates are the pressure switch / the start capacitor( black box in the pic)/ or the thermal breaker.
    You can use some wd-40 in the pressure switch to try to clean and lube it.
    Outside of that youll need a multimeter to really tell you what the problem is.
    huskystafford and SwtFlamingo like this.
  8. Robbyrockett2

    Robbyrockett2 Air-Valve Autobot! Very Likeable!

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2017
    Messages:
    4,313
    Likes Received:
    4,450
    Trophy Points:
    126
    Location:
    Jacksonville, NC
    I suppose you could also jumper the yellow and red wires together and see if it kicks on. If it does then its the pressure switch.
    Of course any tinkering you do with electrical is completely your responsibility as is your safety.
    huskystafford and SwtFlamingo like this.
  9. SwtFlamingo

    SwtFlamingo Guest


    Thanks! That does help narrow it down on where to start! I'll start with the pressure switch and then go from there. Thanks for the wd40 idea!

    I'm not all that mechanically inclined but if it was the capacitor wouldn't you think the light on the power switch wouldn't be on? (Curious)

    Much thanks!
  10. SwtFlamingo

    SwtFlamingo Guest

    Ha! Totally understand!
    Robbyrockett2 likes this.
  11. Robbyrockett2

    Robbyrockett2 Air-Valve Autobot! Very Likeable!

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2017
    Messages:
    4,313
    Likes Received:
    4,450
    Trophy Points:
    126
    Location:
    Jacksonville, NC
    Nah, the light on the power switch will come on regardless.
    Usually capacitor fails are somewhat slow though. Initially starting with humming and no motor movement or having to drop the pressure to near nothing before the motor starts.
    Often on these it will also sputter on and off because theres not a lot of air storage, so the motor keeps trying to start but not hitting a running speed under load.
    Last edited: Jun 30, 2019
    huskystafford likes this.
  12. SwtFlamingo

    SwtFlamingo Guest

    Aaaah I see. Thanks!

Share This Page