Hey everyone

J

JCD

Hey Everyone, new member from NC.

To start I am floored by some of the artist here, you people are GOOD.

I'm not an artist although I do draw a bit but not well.

I picked up an airbrush compressor (came with a trigger gun and 2 single action guns) to run my air graver without using my craftsman and going deaf

Since I had the brushes I started looking up info on airbrushing and ran across the Airbrush Tutor's videos and got enthralled with the beautiful art he creates.

So a trip to the craft store for some paint and I'm practicing.

I like the trigger gun, a Master G77 dual action but noticed most people used a standard type gun so after reading some reviews and looking around I bought a Harbor freight, yes a Harbor freight airbrush for a whole 15$ and change, on sale and 20% coupon, I'm impressed with it and I'd be interested to know if any of you artists have tried one and what you think of it.

I also built a 5$ easel but can't post pics yet so that will have to wait a while.

I've got a long way to go so don't expect to see anything from me for a year or two but maybe one day.

I've learned a lot by reading here and I appreciate all the info, tips, and examples from you all.

Thanks, Jim

Welcome to the forum Jim.

Any airbrush will get you started. You may find that the harbor freight and master ones tend to be a bit finicky. They are knockoff designs of Iwata and Badger airbrushes. I started with an unbranded airbrush from Amazon. Within a month I was frustrated. Also started with opaque paint. Both were no great ideas. Being new learning the relationship between proper air pressure and paint reduction is key. It takes time. Opaque paints have mad tip dry. What paint did you get? Anyone starting out should get airbrush paint. Craft paints can also be totally frustrating. Not that it can't be done.

Any questions you have post them up someone will help you out .