Holding an airbrush seems the hardest part

A

Andreas

Hi everybody,

I'm airbrushing for a few months now, and did allot of practice; dots, lines, blends, dagger strokes,...

But I've never felt comfortable with my airbrush, I thought it would go away after allot of airbrushing, but it isn't. I watched Mitchs video about how to hold an airbrush, and that's how I hold it from day one, but I've never felt comfortable. I can airbrush quite accurate now, and have good control. But my hand isn't relaxed at all, my pointing finger feels wedged all the time, and after maybe 10 minutes of painting I get a cramp in my hand. I have quite big hands, and normally I'm a left handed writer, but I began airbrushing with my right hand. I can feel my airbrush is more comfortable in my left hand, but because of an unknown reason I have almost no trigger control in that hand, but the feeling is more relaxed. The fact I can't paint comfortably keeps me away from painting, because it isn't fun when your hand is hurting. I have both a HP-CS and a H&S Evolution, it's less with the evolution but still there.

What can I do, I looked on the internet for other ways of holding it but none turns out comfy for me. Should I learn everything all over with my left hand?

Hope people maybe have similair experiences. Thanks

It might be you find life more comfy with a side cup air brush, then the cup won't get in the way of larger fingers...

Using the crook of my knuckle seems to help. I do both. I get massive cramps easily .

Are you death gripping the airbrush? That's a common problem, I used to do it.
Something that will also help is getting a softer air spring for the Eclipse and adjusting the air spring tension as light as possible on the Evolution.

I think i am death gripping the airbrush withouy knowing. I also only have a problem when i'm airbrushing with one hand. When I can support with my other hand it's fine. But oldong and crontrolling with one hand seems to much :p