Hook me up with a compressor

D

DIYtech

I am going to buy the Iwata eclipse HP-CS airbrush, and that's literally all I know so far. I've never done anything with airbrushes before so I'm pretty lost. I'm watching videos and whatnot to try and decide what to get, but in the meantime...

Tell me exactly what compressor and accessories you would get for that airbrush, to be used in a workshop, with a budget of $260 (not including the airbrush).

You're all professionals. You know what you would want. What is your dream starter setup? :)

Apart form the mentioned budget your question is the same as "how long is a piece of string". Are you doing model cars, illustration, automotive, body paints, make up, nails, cakes, 200 foot murals in exceptional detail...

Here is a good guide...

Oh good point! I'll be doing super fine detail on computer cases.

I run a California air tool, I think it's a five gallon tank. It's nice, quiet, runs in basement at night with family sleeping no problem.

So you chose a great gun, technically its not a detail gun, however it is the best all rounder, being able to do larger coverage and also great detail work. However it is going to take some getting to know to get the best detail from it. As there is a fairly steep learning curve it is however a great brush to learn on, and as the more you do the more you'll get out of it, you wont outgrow it and the fine work will come. Its also easier to clean and maintain than many too..

As for compressor your budget, and how much noise you can stand/not have any neighbours ready to beat you etc play a part. If your workshop is good for noisy things then any regular compressor will be good, and much cheaper - but loud! If not then "silent" which is more like fridge motor level, is more expensive.