How do you learn how to break a picture down

S

Smiler65

Hi all, hope you all had a good Christmas.
As the title really, I am looking for info on how you go about breaking a picture down to start.
Looking at a finished picture then trying to break it down to a start point seems really daunghting .
I understand you start with the dark areas? And built up with light coats to get your intensity, I'll be using transparent paints mainly, I keep reading in the sbs's that you build up in layers but how do you know what layers are? Or go about building them up.
Sorry if these seem stupid questions but as I have no art experience of any kind any help would be great.

Thanks Smiler

I'm just gonna throw this out there --------->IMO<------------------------ you should start with monotone pieces then slowly get into color.

Color is the one that really messes with the brain and makes an already intimidating process that much harder.

Also, do a TON of video watching. Youtube and if you can afford it, hunt down some Daniel Powers DVD sets and Cory SaintClair as well.

I'm just gonna throw this out there --------->IMO<------------------------ you should start with monotone pieces then slowly get into color.

Color is the one that really messes with the brain and makes an already intimidating process that much harder.

Also, do a TON of video watching. Youtube and if you can afford it, hunt down some Daniel Powers DVD sets and Cory SaintClair as well.

Excellent advice B, although by doing your monotone in either sepia or burnt umber, the transition to colour is fairly easy since that is how most of us begin, everything in my gallery started out burnt umber monotone and the colour is applied at the end.

@Smiler65 check out AndreZA's Walter SBS, this will help you a lot although as Bossman says, try a couple of monotone attempts first.

Thanks for the quick replies.