I've Bought a Job Lot of Gear!

E

efunc

Greetings all! Apologies, but this is my first post, and it's picture heavy. The reason being is that I'm a complete novice and have just purchased a bunch of gear from a tanning salon that they fished out of their back room, and neither I, nor they, know exactly what it is or much about it! I've figured out the main device is a Sparmax MB-620 Airbrush compressor and HVLP gun, and then there's the smaller Sparmax compressor too. The first point is that this kit is clearly filthy and neglected. I'd like to clean it up, so how should I go about this? Can I fully soak the airbrushes in hot soapy water overnight and then loosen up the dirt and dried tanning solutions with a brush? Is this wise, or should dismantle them? Are there better cleaning solutions for the job? Would white spirit be safe to use? What about the compressors? Anyone know how to remove the big compressor and tank from the wheeled flightcase? And just soapy water to clean it?

Secondly, I'd like to use this to paint and touch up my car and alloy wheels. Not really big panels, but more detailed touching up. Would these airbrushes be suitable or are they really for tanning and broad spray patterns?

Also, I just 'power tested' the compressors and ran some air through the airbrushes, and with both of the compressors I noticed an initial burst of good pressure and then the needle quickly drops to fairly low psi after a number of seconds. Is this normal, or do I have to spend some time setting these up and fixing them?

Finally, would either of these be up to the job to topping up my car tyres to a pressure of about 32psi? Or is that unwise? If so is it just a case of purchasing the correct air hose for the tyre valve?

thanks in advance for any much needed advice!

sparmax-1.jpg

sparmax-2.jpg

sparmax-3.jpg

sparmax-4.jpg

sparmax-5.jpg

sparmax-6.jpg

sparmax-7.jpg

sparmax-8.jpg

sparmax-9.jpg

sparmax-10.jpg

sparmax-11.jpg

sparmax-12.jpg

sparmax-13.jpg