Killer Clown Flame Edition

F

Fallen Airbrushing

This is my first attempt at something other than practice dagger strokes or black and white skulls. I am painting an engine cover off a VT Holden Commodore. Hope these little step by steps can help other people :) also this is my first ever thread so hopefully i have done it right haha... learn by doing isnt that what they say?? :)

20140730_132931.jpg

Step 1: Ok so at this point i had sanded it down with 80grit to get rid off old paint and filled the channels in the cover and wording with automotive filler. Then using Auto Air Sealer Dark gave it 4 coats and left it overnight.20140731_163903.jpgStep 2: As the title tells what it is the customer sent me a picture of a clown that he wanted on the cover. I printed the picture and cut the face leaving behind the area to paint the face. Going in with Auto Air Transparent White I went in and started freehanding all the details of the face with the white using the cutout as a stencil and application tape as a shield to protect the cover from overspray.

20140807_164342.jpg
Step 3: I decided to start adding details and shading so mixing Auto Air Trans White and Trans Black to make a light grey mix i began working details into my soon to be dark areas. as you can see the grey is very light but gave me an understanding of where i needed to go darker and also where i needed to keep my highlights.

20140811_191205.jpg
Step 4: After finishing with the grey shading mixture I decided i wanted to add colour before I began going in darker with shading to make sure my colours dont dirty up and stay and clean as possible. Using Auto Air Trans Red I slowly worked my way around the areas required to be red. making sure i went in deeper in the darker areas to give a sense of depth.

20140813_144118.jpg
Step 5: I begin going into the dark areas with a 50/50 mix of Auto Air Trans Base and Trans Black trying to not kill the painting in black and going to dark too quickly.