Micron or badger krome

D

Dustin maybin

Glad to be a part of this forum, just joined and I have a question, I have been airbrushing for about 5 years, mainly in the automotive/motorcycle graphics field. I have several iwata brushes all from the eclipse line, I am looking to get into a brush that is capable of more detail work. I immediately assumed the micron was my best choice, but I have read a lot of good things about a badger krome. So that brings me to my question, which brush guys? Anyone have experience with both and can give me a fair comparison ? Is a badger krome really as good as a iwata micron?

I have both. I prefer the micron. Just know that certain models are not solvent proof. Simple enough to change though. I just have a better feel and control with the micron.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD

The Krome is a great detail brush, but it is not as good as the Micron. If you have been painting for 5 years, and have the money, get the Micron.
I always try to push new people away from the Micron and toward the Krome because it can do great detail. New Airbrushers tend to bend needles and crack nozzles while learning, and parts for the Micron are expensive. Better to damage the Krome and spend $20 on parts if they crash into their work trying a dagger stroke than spend their paycheck on Micron parts. The Krome/Velocity are probably the best low priced brushes out there, but they are not a Micron.

Thanks for the quick replys guys, for those with krome experience, is that a brush that is even capable of out performing a eclipse?

Thanks for the quick replys guys, for those with krome experience, is that a brush that is even capable of out performing a eclipse?

Yes it will beat the Eclipse hands down, the main thing the Micron has over the Krome is atomization of the paint. But fine line to fine line pretty much equal.
The other difference is price of not only the airbrush but the replacement parts. Micron parts are costly .