Mikey's Log

Mikey

Young Tutorling
Hello everyone. Hopefully, I am posting this in the correct spot. I am new to airbrushing (and have very little experience using online forums as well). I consider myself crafty and have some experience with wood and leatherwork. I have no experience with artistry or drawing/painting. This is only a side hobby for me but I do find it enjoyable. I have been setting aside about an hour a day for painting dots, lines, and doodles. Today is my 10th day, and I decided to try a fine lines practice sheet made by Art-Tehnika (Lion) that I found on this forum. It was nice to break up the monotonous practice that I have been doing. Also, I have included my only attempt at actually painting anything so far. I painted the galaxy on day 7 using a YouTube follow-along. I want to start an artist's log to track my progress. I spent about an hour on these two lion practice sheets. Overall, I have enjoyed myself and I am happy with my progress so far. Therefore, I will probably continue to invest time (and $$$) into this hobby and I ordered myself a GSI Creos PS-289. I chose this model as my first "real" airbrush based on advice from this forum and some Youtube reviews. I anxiously await its arrival!

The airbrush used in this practice was a cheap unbranded model AB-130 .3mm airbrush that came with a compressor kit. I used 30 psi, Createx Airbrush Colors black - 3:1 mix with Createx 4011 reducer. Everything was painted on regular 8.5 x 11 printer paper. I know these are inconsistent and far from perfect, but it was practice and I was trying different things in different areas.

I welcome any criticism, input, and suggestions for improvement. I have pretty thick skin and my feelings are not easily hurt. Everything I have learned so far has been self-taught using YouTube and this forum. How am I doing? Maybe in the distant future, when I move past the kindergarten stage, I can change my handle from Mikey to Big Mike?

My analysis of these practices: