motorcycle fairing

H

Hudson1984

Morning all,

hoping to pick your brains.

I have a motorcycle that I'm rebuilding. This weekend the engine will go back in and it all should start taking shape over the next couple of weeks.

I've been looking into having the fairing resprayed as it's a bit dated - don't get me wrong the bike is fairly old itself so it's never going to win any beauty prizes but would like to update it a bit.

I was wondering if it's within the realms of a newbie painter to have a go myself? now I've never done anything like it before (gotta start somewhere though right?) and I only really want it black at this stage - can it be done? or should I just pay up and get a professional to do it?

the long term aim would be to have some red skulls on it, really light but really bright I want to have the lower edge of the side panels to have a kind of pile of skulls and a racing stripe through the centre of the tank and rear fairing to have the skulls too - but I've got a got year or two before being able to do this - not even graduated dots yet!!

so yes - should I do it myself in which case does anyone have a good step by step guide or - should I pay to have it done, being quoted around £300 before repairs for one colour respray

Cheers All
Hudson

Hi Hudson and welcome.
First of all cal I ask you to fill out your profile so people know at least where you are in world in order to help you with advice?
I just looked at your fist post but most people just want to look at the profile and see where your from.
My initial thoughts are that you don't have the set up to do panel work.
You are going to need at least a detail gun and for the clear coat you will need additional equipment.
There is nothing wrong with having the panel work and clear coat done by a professional except you are paying out money.