Need help ASAP with stencil

D

Daniel D

So I'm basically stuck. I take off my atencils and they are not a clean crisp edge at all... And unfortunately I need to do multiple color layers. I'm doing a camo stencil. So I have 3 colors I need to use. I laid down red, then put my atencils on...colored blue...waited to dry and threw the last of the atencils and painted white...and when I took them off It was not a clean edge at all. So I'm stuck and at a loss about what to do...I'm not sure if I need to use the female end of the stencil and pull it off right away for the crisp edge or what. I'm thinking that will be the best idea. Otherwise I'm not to happy with the job. I'm stuck and at a loss. This is for a customer. And I'm new to the business world and the airbrush/paint world. So I'm going to deal with consequences and spend some money and get the guy a brand new controller shell(my business) and repaint it for him.

Also wondering, since I used water based paint if I can just wash it off with some water???

Can you post some pictures (of the stencil and the work)? That will make it a lot easier to see where it goes wrong.

The only thing I can come up with at the moment is that you might be spraying towards the stencil, making the air lift it and the paint get under it.

Being new to airbrushing and doing commissioned work is probably not a good idea. You really should be doing a ton of practice pieces before trying to sell anything. If you are getting overspray under your stencils, it could be as Haasje said and you are spraying toward the edge. Other issues could be that you have your psi too high causing the stencil to lift, essentially the same issue. Because controller shells are round for the most part, your stencils are probably not making good contact allowing for a gap where the paint is getting under.

No the stencil is not coming off clean..no overspray issues...