NEO for Iwata :/

J

jaystacy

I have a neo for iwata. Luckily I got it 40% off. I know I am new to airbrushing but a few things anyone who is concider in this should know.

1. Paint always gets into cup threads no matter how tight you make it.

2. Paint always remains in needle tube. (Sorry don't know technic let name yet)

3. No amount of cleaner has ever removed all paint from this brush. I have tried createx cleaner, rubbing alchohal, windex no ammonia or vinegar, and plain water.

So far every color change I have had to completely tear the brush down to remove all paint so there is no contamination. This could be poorly designed or bad seals. I am guessing bad design as the O ring for the cup is above the cup threads not in the airbrush. This does create an air seal but leaves space for paint to get into the threads.

So now I am going to look for a new brush around the 200 ish mark. Thinking bout harder steenbeck evolution 2 in 1. Or another iwata I do like the idea of .5 and .35 needles or close to that.

Createx trans diluted down to milk or less. The thread issue with the cup is what makes me madest. Waiting on wicked.

you've got every cleaner except restorer, I'd grab a bottle of that, its reusable so its quite economical. with the cup issue maybe some Teflon tape or a smear of beeswax (I've been told chapstick works well )

I use illustration in HP+ brushes and just use water / ammonia free windex / water routine for colour changes.(i'll remove and wipe the needle if its a severe colour change and flush brush without the needle) at end of day I use water / let is soak in restorer for 10 minutes then do the colour change routine again. seems to work well.
its possible the vinegar has etched the internals, its an acid, all be it a mild one.

Sorry ment no ammonia and no vinegar just pure windex. Now the beeswax idea I hadn't concidered. Teflon tape would be to hard but the wax idea may help.