New Airbrush Woes

F

flytier

Hey guys and girls!
I am an absolute noob with this airbrush thing and I'd appreciate any and all input here. So I got my brush (Veda 180) and stuff and got it all hooked up. I've watched about a thousand YouTube videos on airbrushing. Some guy does some tutorials where he starts out basically spraying diluted ink in water to get the hang of it. That seemed like a reasonable idea to me, except that I used a very dilute solution of (water-based) Createx Opaque Black that I mixed in a small container before pouring it into the brush cup. They say the optimal thickness for airbrush paint is like 2% milk. The stuff I was spraying wasn't even close to that (much thinner). Anyhow, after playing for about an hour making gray dots and gray lines, etc., I rinsed out the brush and shot a couple of cups of distilled water through it. Gave it a few taps onto an old bath towel and shined it up nice and pretty. Fast forward about 6 hours. I wanted to play some more, but this time, I wanted to use thicker paint. The second batch was darker, but still nowhere close to 2% milk. It didn't matter. I couldn't get the thing to spray at all.

So I'm thinking I didn't clean it out good enough the first time around . No worries, I'll deal with that later. The brush came with a secondary needle labeled 0.3mm and a secondary tip labeled 0.3mm. I rinsed out the cup and back-flushed distilled water in the cup until the water appeared very clear. I changed the needle and the nozzle and tried again. This time I got some tiny blobs of paint that would come out only if I worked the trigger back and forth with the trigger pressed all the way down. Bummer. I cleaned it out again, etc.