New beginner doing it for my kids :)

S

Snoochies

Hello,

This is my first time 'really' trying airbrushing. I use to be a signwriter or sticker applicator 10 years ago and in college I dabbled with a bit of airbrush and really enjoyed that little bit I did. I have recently purchased an Iwata kit and have been practising some basic strokes and lessons but am no where near getting close to making any art :(

My ultimate goal is to paint a mural in my 3 year olds room of Lightning Maqueen and Mater from Disneys Cars. My first attempts have been unsuccessful as I'm trying to do stenciling by using some photographic paper as stencils. The problem I guess is I'm painting onto butchers paper and get a fair bit of overspray with the stencil lifting up. Ultimately though in his bedroom I should be able to mask up the areas needed and cut out as I go along.

Any tips be great. Haven't had a chance to read through the forum yet so will do my research :)

I'll post up the pics of what I'm trying to do after I have made a few more posts.

Cheers

Welcome from Canada, there is plenty of help to be found on the forum, and if you have any question, just post them there will be someone who can answer you. :)

Welcome to the forum, theres plenty to read, and you can always shoot specific questions our way. Chances are someone will know how to help.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

Welcome home Snoochies ,
On any template you mainly want to ghost the stencil on to the area. Just enough so you can see it but not so much that you have a lip or over spray.
Than go in freehand and the use of free hand spray shields can be used to get the painting looking like you never used a stencil in the first place.

Thanks for the welcome. Already learnt something lol.

Yeah I was using the template as the actual outline so was spraying kinda hard with it.

What are spray shields? Shows how new I am to this. :)

Thanks for the welcome. Already learnt something lol.