New from South Africa

A

ArthurH

Greetings to all from South Africa

I am a part time photographer. I mainly taking photos of the drifting scene and recently decided it would be a good idea to get to learn how to airbrush.
The idea behind this is to create cartoon images of my photos and airbrush them onto t-shirts.
Step 1 - Learn to airbrush, so here I am.

dumela, sawabona, gooiedag :)
welcome arthur. this is most certainly a good place to learn.
From what part of sunny SA do you hail. I stay in Roodepoort.

Thanks. I do need some info regarding paint, what is good to start with and where do I find?

Hi Arthur-if you have some time, then get yourself to Herbert Evens this month for their annual sale - they are an art shop in the upper level of four ways crossing. ITO what paint to get, as a starter and a good water based paint is the FW ink from Daler Rowney. The cap even has a dropper built in. AndreZA keeps some com-art paints (which I recommend as well - I love my transparent smoke). To start I would sugest a paynes grey (or black) white and the primaries, but AndreZA might disagree, as he has just come back from a Marissa course and he is using a whole bunch of "colours" (need him to explain my inverted comas :) )If you want to go even cheaper I have had reasonable use out of the DALA inks. Also from Herbert evans art shop.

I also have an account with the chaps that import the Harder and Steenbeck range of awesome brushes. they keep temporary tattoo ink and some other wired stuff.

I would stay away from anything NOT water-based at this point, but that is also a personal preference.

edit - Herbert Evens is above Toys R Us :)

Last edited by a moderator: