new guy

B

bbbrick

Hey I'm Rick from Oklahoma USA
I got an iwata neo to try out. Cardiologist said no fishing or basically anything I would typically do cause heart function dropped to the low teens he said I needed to find something easy to do so I thought make and paint fishing lures
Went to walmart and got cheap craft paint and thinned it down to practice,planned on using airbrush to paint lures .
I just started playing with it past few days ,lures seemed easy to paint once I learned to turn air pressure down and not pull back very far and blast a ton of paint and learned fast that i better hold air down if I want to stop splatters.
Yesterday I decided to paint an eye it came out semi decent except the cardstock i was using buckled and I couldn't spray fine enough detail (and the walmart craft paint skin tones I mixed when dry were darker)
I thought this isn't difficult so
thought I would try fire...LOL ...made a very nice mess more i tried worse it got hahaha next time i will let colors dry or blow dry
but I'll figure it out had it close several times then added more paint ....I should have just finished highlights and details with brushes (need to get some decent brushes and artist paint too)
Once I play around some with the craft paint I will get better paint all I have now createx pearlescent (for lures) and need to get the right paper .
I had some poster paper here and coated it with latex primer last night with a fine foam mini roller did both sides it came out mostly flat ill try painting on it,if it don't work will try diluting primer down and roll on a few pieces
This may take me a little while to catch on but with a few short hours of practice in my humble opinion i'm bound to be world class ;)

Welcome aboard Rick, I’m not trying to scare you off, but if you’re looking for a relaxing hobby.... eject Now!!:p