New Member Intro.

J

james lanfear

Hello, I have used my real name as my title.
I am from Chard, Somerset, UK. I am 51.
I have been airbrushing for two years. I started making fishing lures & so have just developed on that side of things. My daughter, who is ten & I, have also made a few cards for family & friends, using stencils.
I would like to learn much more. In particular, I plan on customising the paint work on my guitar. Need to get that one right, though, as it's a decent one!
I met one of your members, Steve, who had done some great work on a truck, he put me on to this site. Nice guy.
I have a bit of a workshop, so appreciate that buying the best tool you can afford is usually a good investment; therefore, I have an Iwata Custom Micron airbrush. Also, a real cheap one , that came with my compressor, a 'GS AS18'. I would like to upgrade the compressor, soon. The cheap airbrush works fine, has a 0.5mm needle & so lays on my base coats well. I also spray blocks of metallics & pearls with it. I use the Iwata for everything else. I use Createx paints mostly; Wicked & Auto-Air. Though a few solvent based Tamiya ones & water based UV fluorescing ones, too.
My biggest problems occur with how much reducer to use on all the different paints, also, the balance on paint flow & what air flow, to get a smooth & even coating. I have got better at that with experience though.
I know very little about airbrushing, learning as I go, so if I appear stupid, you'll understand I just have'nt come across that yet!
Thanks for the membership.
Cheers,
James.

Welcome from New Zealand. Great lures by the way. What are you targeting with them? We have a couple of guys here who make their own, I'm going to give it a try as well I think.