New to Airbrushing

J

Jamie-Lee McLeish

Hi all,

Just wanted to introduce myself to you fine people. I'm very new to airbrushing - after getting the urge to paint my games controllers and watching videos of some absolutely beautiful jobs being completed on YouTube.

Thinking that it was best to keep costs low in the beginning I bought an unbranded airbrush, having already had a relatively good compressor available to use. I'm already looking into upgrading after working with some of the Createx acrylic paints, and am looking at the Harder and Steenbeck Ultra airbrush next.

Also - looking around at previous posts in the forum I'm considering getting an HVLP gun (again, a cheap version), to spray clear coats. I'll be looking for some more advice from more experienced members shortly though, if this is alright.

I am really looking forward to learning more from this community. Again, after looking through posts before registering, everyone seems really friendly and knowledgeable.

I look forward to chatting with everyone here.
Jamie,

Welcome home Jamie
now if you could please tell us where on this planet you live that would be great . Maybe we can help point you in a direction of a local shop to look for items or deals .
Remember when painting those plastic controllers you will want a good adhesion promoter (Bull dog is a great rattle can and HOK AP-01 is a great spray gun version)
I use a 2k clear on the ones I have done for my kids due to it is automotive and designed to hold up to elements so the handling of them for hours upon hours of game play does not hurt the art work underneath.

Hi Mr.Micron,