new to airbrushing

M

mikeybgoode

hello all Im Mike I'm 48 and just getting into airbrushing. Im nearing semi-retirement and was looking for something to do to make a little money as I plan to travel from beach to beach, and tshirt a came to mind as a lite and portable option I'm not a great artist but I can do most of these tourist type shirts I've seen, using stencils and practice.
any advice is greatly appreciated as to equipment and supply's. I'm using a anthem 155 now it seems ok not sure if its the best. I've been told by a friend that aqua flow paint is his favorite, I haven't been able to experiment with much yet just using some cheap Walmart craft paint to practice lines, dots and dagger strokes.
have a great day

Hi Mikey,
Where in the world are you? and where will the beaches be? I presume you have transport. Do you plan to use a compressor or air cylinders? Either way they are not things you can really back pack with but maybe you have a cunning plan :)

Anyway welcome to the forum
Cheers Mel

hi I'll be living and traveling on a sailboat in Florida. I'll use a small compressor. and keep a lot of supply's in storage

Hello Mike and welcome to the forum.

I have an Anthem as well . Works great. It's a very versatile brush. Get yourself some fast blast caps and you can convert your 2-4 oz bottle to quick change. I primarily use mine for larger scale stuff or shirts. But then I have 2 Patriots and other brushes as well.

You can In time convert the anthem to the needle and nozzle from the patriot, which will give you tighter line control . I would recommend getting some spectratex, it's badgers paint, it flows great straight out of the bottle , and is awesome for fabrics. Wicked is also another great product.

Enjoy spraying .

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD

Last edited by a moderator: