NEWB - what to buy? - Alberta, Canada

T

thematrixiam

Hey there guys,

I'm a newb here, and in the ways of airbrushing.

I am looking to get into it as a hobby for detailed fine art. Probably starting off with just random sketches on sketch paper, then maybe one day moving to painting random things around the house. Such as computer case, game cases, maybe even my van if I got good enough.

I am wondering which type of airbrush would be able to do what I want and still be relatively cheap. Preferably between 50 and 100. I've seen some on E-crap.com and Princess-car.com (names changed to avoid shamelessly plugging commercial sites. the price is okay, but not sure if going that cheap, and the bottom of the barrel, will leave me with soggy old fish.

I am fairly certain that what I am looking for is a dual action airbrush with the little cup on top. the larger jugs would be for larger projects, and would most likely get int the way of fine detail. I also own a excrementty air compressor. It should be good enough for airbrushing though, it has a tank and a regulator on it.

thanks in advance.

Iwata brushes are the easiest to get in Canada. You can go to Michael's with a coupon an get a good price on a Badger Anthem. I bought the side feed from PA it was okay but your right to want to buy Quality right from the start. Just be aware the cost of shipping across the border can be expensive. Don't forget to get an airbrush hose that matches the brush you buy. Airbrushes are 1/8th inch, you compressor is probably 1/4 inch. most hosse will adapt to 1/4 inch fittings.

Like JHM said, Michaels has Badger Airbrushes. The Patriot 105 is the Gravity feed model. I have it and use it all the time, it is a great brush and it's less than $100.
There is an ultra fine conversion kit available for it, if you would like better detail in the future. I personally did not get the conversion kit, as I already have 3 detail airbrushes.