Newbie question about "which" brush

Wannaby

Young Tutorling
Disclaimer: I'm not a canvas artist on any level. Not going to be airbrushing any fantastic paintings or painting any tiny game figurines.

I'm tossing around the idea of painting my motorcycle. There is typically a lot of taping of stripes etc..............along with multitudes of shading in the process. I'm going to have to buy an airbrush. Certainly don't need an Iwata Eclipse or anything of the caliber. I've heard people I know who use airbrushes frequently in their work say the Paasche Talon is a respectable brush at a reasonable price. Any thoughts you'd like to share with a green newbie would be much appreciated.

I will suggest https://spraygunner.com/gsi-creos-mr-airbrush-procon-boy-ps-270-0-2mm-no-package/
it holds up as well as the iwata's and sprays just as good.
Saying you're not going to be a canvas artist is hog wash being what are bike tins? Metal canvas , Canvas is a broad term to include walls , bike tins , cars , paper or pretty much anything you can get to hold paint or hold still long enough to get paint on . Even the human body aka body artist.
Talon = not worth the money or the hype. While the fan spray set up is nice I can do the same thing with my mini hvlp and I had already owned it.

But thing like drop shadows and making them look right still take the practice time.

Hi Wannaby

Speaking as a totally new behind the ears air brush addict, I will say you are at the right place to find the info you need to succeed.

Can't wait to see the works you produce. I went to the website in your intro post and the woodwork is amazing. You will be great at airbrushing.

All the best,
-Joe

AndreZA and mr Micron have pointed you in the right direction and what ever you decide stay well away from the Paasche talon , it is a great looking airbrush but that is the only good thing about this airbrush the quality is poor to say the least