Newby from Scotland, hello 😀🙏

Maryf

Mac-Valve Maestro!
Hello from Scotland, thanks for letting me join. I’m a complete beginner, my first experiment was fun but I will need get used to so many things, paint consistency, psi, distance from the surface and trigger control. I have cheap brushes (they (a pair) were from eBay £40 from a site called Toolbox and there’s no indication who they were made by) and once I ruin them with my lack of experience 😄 I’d like to buy a good second hand H&S airbrush as I believe they are one of the best, or should I save up for a new one (will need to save for a second hand one as well 😀)? I have a Timbertech air compressor, with its own tank. I’ve been watching loads of utube videos, thanks to everyone who takes the time to create them. My first experiment didn’t go too badly, I incorporated some line work with using the thinned down paint, I’d never thought of thinning the paint to that extent before, it’s brilliant for line work. I love the effect with the airbrush and how the colours blend together and how you can cover areas so quickly.

Hello and welcome. Sounds like you have the bug already and are learning and practising the right things. Cleaning, caring and inspecting those brushes you have should stand you in good stead to spot a good secondhand brush. I have only secondhand brushes, just ask questions, ask for photos and look up parts prices to see if you are happy to spend that extra if it needs work when you get it.

Welcome Mary, Great to have You here, Be sure to post up Your work, We love pics, even if its just dots and lines :)

When You decide to upgrade, take a look at the new ultra, it has great reviews and is recommended by DaveG, Who knows a little bit about brushes :) It quite reasonable priced and should serve you well :)

Heres @DaveG 's review of the ultra