How is this for a first post?

• Decent, we will not lynch you...yet.

Votes: 1 50.0%
  • Oh you noobs give me a headache!

Votes: 1 50.0%

• Total voters
M

meesterover

I did read around a bit on the forum and did not see anything specifically answering my questions. However, if I am search-inept, please point me to the forum topics that already contain the information that I seek. I apologize in advance if this is the case.

Since this is my first post, I will introduce myself here, as well as the introductory forum.

By trade, I am a software artist (since it is far from an engineering practice like we like to think) and I have no formal art training, just an imagination and mediocre drawing skill. My hobbies include, photography, composite work, 3D printing, mountain biking and tennis. So these are fun from being able to airbrush, thus the reason I am asking for some expert knowledge and have joined this forum.

My first project should be relatively simple. I have a mountain bike frame (Canfield Jedi) that is just clear coated from the factory, a brand new frame. I have the company logos in vector format and will print stencils with vinyl. This will all but eliminate my need to be able to airbrush a straight line, which is a good thing in my case. I would, however, like to "feather in" the stencil. To explain more, the frame is silver and I am spraying a green (to match the color in the attachment) and would like to just spray the edges of the lettering from the stencil and leave the very center of the logo the color of the frame. If that does not make sense, I will bust out a crude Photoshop rendition, just let me know.

There is a local seller that has a brand new Snap-On BF105 kit for sale for $100, which led me to start contemplating this more. Like I said, my imagination is usually a hindrance to accomplishing things upon which it would be more (life) beneficial to focus, but that is not always as fun.