Paasche hose leaking air?

S

SampleName

Hey guys, quick question for you.
I just bought my Paasche Talon kit and the hose doesn't connect all the way onto the brush (it's one of those red braided hoses). When I run air through it, it leaks out of the connector.
I can't get it to screw onto the airbrush very far. On the other end of the hose, it connects nicely to the compressor and doesn't leak any air.
The area between the coupler and hose is where the air comes out, and it is able to move around a bit.
The air stops leaking out when I press the house flush against the coupler.
It seems that I'm unable to post pictures as a new member, so hopefully my description was clear enough.

Any idea what's wrong? I'm brand new to airbrushing and am not sure what to do.
Thanks.

Are the hose ends the same size? If so try swapping them. Airbrush connections tend to be a straight cut thread like a bolt, pipe threads are tapered for sealing, this may be the issue.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD

I should be able to post pictures now. Here's what I'm talking about.

sounds like the oring is missing --- OR if the oring IS there then there may be something wrong with the threads - mis matched or cross threaded - hope this helps :)

Agree with fly, looks like it's not threaded together far enough. Some hoses have an O ring , some have a flat seal, either way some sort of seal needs to be in there.

That gap looks a bit big, it is a lot tighter on my hoses. Not sure how to fix that.

lee

For reference, here's a shot of the inside of the hose.

And here is what the other end looks like. I have a male to female quick release in it right now. It doesn't leak air and I don't see a big gap between the hose and coupler.

I wonder if the inside section of the hose doesn't let it screw down far enough. Most of my hoses have more space inside the fitting. I wonder if purchasing a quick disconnect set might not be the easiest solution for you.