For Every Airbrush Artist!

Want to see more forum, less google ads ? Then register for free

Register

Paasches D3000R

Discussion in 'Compressors' started by Nathalie, Apr 8, 2020.


  1. Nathalie

    Nathalie Double Actioner

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2019
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    56
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Montreal, quebec, Canada
    Hello,

    I have a compressor Paasches D3000r. I bought it in 2017. I used it extensively. Now it cannot stand the pressure. The gauge indicate zero.

    What can I do to fix it ...
  2. jord001

    jord001 Air-Valve Autobot!

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2012
    Messages:
    6,729
    Likes Received:
    6,006
    Trophy Points:
    126
    Location:
    Birmingham UK
    First question, does it start up when you switch it on? If it starts up does it produce air? Is there air coming from the bottom of the water trap? Make sure the regulator isnt screwed all the way down otherwise it will not show any pressure on the gauge.

    Lee
    Martin2020 likes this.
  3. Nathalie

    Nathalie Double Actioner

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2019
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    56
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Montreal, quebec, Canada
    Thanks I' check
    jord001 likes this.
  4. Nathalie

    Nathalie Double Actioner

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2019
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    56
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Montreal, quebec, Canada
    As I'm asking questions about compressor. I've this one too :

    It says that the D3000r have a max of 40 psi. Is the gauge showing like 70 psi is a real 70 psi or kind of a fraction of the global 40 psi of the compressor. In other word, is it dangerous to open the gauge over the 40 psi mark on the gauge.

    I dont know if I'm clear.

    The thing idms that something i wish to have more psi and I dont open the valve because I'm affraid to overload the compressor
    jord001 likes this.
  5. jord001

    jord001 Air-Valve Autobot!

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2012
    Messages:
    6,729
    Likes Received:
    6,006
    Trophy Points:
    126
    Location:
    Birmingham UK
    You should be able to open the regulator all the way. If the compressor is only capable of pushing out 40psi maximum, it will never reach the 70psi it shows on the gauge. My Iwata SmartJet doesn't push out much over 45 psi with the regulator open all the way but on the gauge it indicates it can go up to 100psi. Your airbrush is also restricted to the maximum psi it will let flow through its air passages depending the size of the passages inside.

    Did you try your compressor yet?

    Lee
  6. Nathalie

    Nathalie Double Actioner

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2019
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    56
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Montreal, quebec, Canada
    Hi Lee

    Thanks for the answer on the gauge.

    I checked the compressor. No leek on the "overflow" underneat the tank. I restarted the compressor andtru my airbrush on. The flow is unstable and the sound of the motor is un steady too.

    I just leave it as dead.

    I bought a badger tc909 to replace it. I didn't have enough money to buy a better compressor. It will do so until next year.
    jord001 likes this.
  7. jord001

    jord001 Air-Valve Autobot!

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2012
    Messages:
    6,729
    Likes Received:
    6,006
    Trophy Points:
    126
    Location:
    Birmingham UK
    Sounds like your motor could be on its way out OR it could be a bad bearing, really easy to check with basic tools. I replaced one on my Iwata Powerjet Pro. If its that then its literally only a few dollars for a bearing the same as in a kids stunt scooter wheel lol. I had a spare from fixing my God Daughters scooter. Anyway here's the link to the repair thread..

    https://www.airbrushforum.org/threads/iwata-powerjet-pro-repairs.20952/

    Lee
  8. Nathalie

    Nathalie Double Actioner

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2019
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    56
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Montreal, quebec, Canada
    Hooooo


    I will received my replacement monday or tuesaday. But I will check this link. And I will try to fix it anyway.

    Thanks
  9. Nathalie

    Nathalie Double Actioner

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2019
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    56
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Montreal, quebec, Canada
    Hello Lee

    I did open my paasche compressor. There is no bearing inside. There a "piston" inside. That's all.

    2de edit
    Hold on I recheck the post I think I ddid not went trough all step
    Last edited: Apr 14, 2020
    jord001 likes this.
  10. Nathalie

    Nathalie Double Actioner

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2019
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    56
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Montreal, quebec, Canada
    Hello Lee

    Watch the name of the tool to remove the double shaft ?
    jord001 likes this.
  11. Nathalie

    Nathalie Double Actioner

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2019
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    56
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Montreal, quebec, Canada
    Hi everyone

    I found out the tool. It's called :

    Snap ring plier. On sale in every hardware store. I found one for 10 $
    jord001 likes this.
  12. jord001

    jord001 Air-Valve Autobot!

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2012
    Messages:
    6,729
    Likes Received:
    6,006
    Trophy Points:
    126
    Location:
    Birmingham UK
    Sorry, I didn't see the update on this thread or I would have answered quicker. The bearing will be at the bottom of the rod where it attaches, held on by the snap ring. They're called circlips over here in England.. When you take the "head" off if you move the piston so it is sticking out of the top you should be able to feel if there is any movement in the piston rod.

    Lee
    Last edited: Apr 16, 2020
  13. Nathalie

    Nathalie Double Actioner

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2019
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    56
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Montreal, quebec, Canada
    Thanks Lee !!!
  14. Nathalie

    Nathalie Double Actioner

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2019
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    56
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Montreal, quebec, Canada
    Hi Lee,

    Ok I received the snap plier....

    Remove the snap .... but the piston seem to be stuck. It's not pulling of easily. Do I force it ?
    jord001 likes this.
  15. Nathalie

    Nathalie Double Actioner

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2019
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    56
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Montreal, quebec, Canada
    Here a pic of the piston that I can't take off. Is someone havesn idea of how to take it off ?

    Attached Files:

    jord001 likes this.
  16. jord001

    jord001 Air-Valve Autobot!

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2012
    Messages:
    6,729
    Likes Received:
    6,006
    Trophy Points:
    126
    Location:
    Birmingham UK
    Hi Again, sorry i didn't see the update. I thought id pressed "watch the thread" but I hadn't. Its a very small pic but looks normal.

    The snap ring is only there to stop it from coming off on its own. The piston needs to be in the highest position so you have more wriggle room. Then spray with a small amount of wd40 or similar to help loosen it, it wont hurt the motor or anything. Then VERY carefully see if you can get something behind it to gently prize it off.

    Lee
    huskystafford likes this.
  17. Nathalie

    Nathalie Double Actioner

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2019
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    56
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Montreal, quebec, Canada
    Thanks

    I'll give news

Share This Page