Paint Chipping

T

Tnessi

Hey,

I'm currently working on a goalie mask and It's starting to chip which is starting to stress me out. I started by sanding, priming, then sanding again. I started using Wicked colors mixed with 4030 automobile additive, and 4012 reducer.

I started painting and everything was going great, but when I peeled back some of the vinyl pinstripping tape I was using started to take some of the paint with it. The primer stayed byt the Wicked Colors didn't. I'm hoping that I can seal it in with an auto grade clear coat and it won't have any oppurtunity to peel anymore.

Let me know if there's any immediate fixes, if there's anything I can do later, and If there's anything I could've done earlier to fix it.

Thanks

So is it chipping or peeling...? Was the pinstripping tape used as a masking tape? It sounds like a high build up of paint drying on the edge.

I've also noticed that areas with the most buildup are the spots with the most peeling. It's also only along edges where primer is visible.

So is it chipping or peeling...? Was the pinstripping tape used as a masking tape? It sounds like a high build up of paint drying on the edge.
It's peeling off with the pinstriping vinyl. I'm also using masking tape, but not for the direct edges. I want to make sure however that even if it's a large buildup that It won't have any effect on the durability of the helmet and paint.

It you de-tack the tape prior to putting it on?
De-taacking the tape is where you put it on your clothes first so it is not as sticky , Also leaving the paint on until it is fully cure can cause it to flake up along the edge of the tape line.

How long did you let it dry before removing the masking tape? Perhaps you should try removing it a bit sooner?
I let it sit for about 20-45 minutes because I wanted to make sure it didn't need anymore coats. would removing it right away help?