Paint flows backward toward trigger

P

Panorama Mann

While I was painting, my DeVilbiss DAGR started making a bubbling sound every time the trigger was depressed. I thought it might be a small clog despite using heavily reduced Com-Art paint, but when I put my ear to the cup I realized the bubbling sound was coming from the trigger area. I thought I might have spilled a little paint in there so I twisted up several small pieces of paper towel and soaked up the paint by utilizing the effect of capillary action. Once it was all dried up I started painting again. Within a couple minutes the bubbling sound was back and the trigger area was full of paint again. So I dumped the paint, cleaned the gun and tried again. Same result. Cleaned again. With the trigger, needle and needle chucking guide removed I looked into the rear of the gun toward the front. Everything looked fine but I suspect the needle guide screw somehow became loose. I didn't want to mess with it until I ran the issue past the veterans here in the forum. Any clue about what's happening here?

The only thing that holds the paint back from the trigger chamber is the teflon seal in the needle packing nut. Remove it with a long screwdriver, clean it and re-install it. Not too tight. When you feel some tension, stop, insert needle and see how it feels. There should be just the slightest bit of tension grabbing the needle. If too much, release the nut a bit. If too little, tighten it. If it is fully tightened and it is still not dragging, replace the seal.