paint over 2k with waterbased

P

plugy

I am a complete novice to spraying, and wanted to spray my motorcycle tanks then airbrush a stencil.
After speaking to my local paint supplier they recommend and gave me 2k primer, metallic base candy color and 2k lacquer.
I want to airbrush pin up girls on the tank.
Can you airbrush 2k paint?
Is it easier to airbrush water based, if so can you do it over 2k candy?
Any help or advice would be greatly appreciated.

Stranger Danger !! http://www.airbrushforum.org/introductions/ an introduction would help a lot. Knowing where you live (state country ) , What equipment you have if any only helps us help you.
2k to me means 2 parts needing an activator mixed in vs 1k which only need reducer .
Both can be scuffed and painted on but the 2k gives a harder stronger finish.

But not knowing where you live , the laws of spraying 2k in the area you live in that is about all I can tell you other than stay safe Mask up and do not spray that in an attached garage. isocyanate poisoning is a real thing .

Sorry my name is Paul and live in UK.
Not knowing much about spraying i did spray the 2k primer, then metallic base coat thinned down in my shed without a mask.
I am now a bit more educated and have bought a suitable face mask.
They paint shop told me i need to mix the candy with thinners, then apply 2k lacquer.
My question is what type of paint is best to use for the stencils.
I have two airbrushes, bought as a kit with small compressor.