pearlized or opaque?

Z

zombiefury

I'm somewhat new to airbrushing and I'm still trying to figure out the different purposes for all the different paints.I bought a set of createx paints,two of each color,one says pearlized and the other opaque.What is the difference between the two?kinda confusing for now that's because I'm new at this.does pearlized cover better,transparency,tone,hue,or whatever compared to opaque?is there another site I can use that might help explain the differences between all the choices and uses for paints?thanks for any info.

Hi Zombie, a quick explanation is that Opaque paints are a "solid" colour, you spray it on and you get full colour saturation in 1 or 2 passes. Transparent are exactly as it says, a more see through paint and it takes several passes to achieve full paint saturation. Your Pearlized paint is basically a very fine metallic paint which gives a really nice shimmer to the colour. I would say its more of a opaque paint than an transparent as it should cover light and dark surfaces. Hope this helps a little. I'm sure others can explain better and give you tips but i'm not that familiar with createx.

Lee

Really depends on what your painting too zombiefury. I've been airbrushing for 8 years and used pearls maybe twice lol! When I do use the createx Auto Air I use the trans paints mostly because I like to build my colors up slowly.

Thanks for the info,would it be wise if I invest in transparents if I plan on furthering my airbrush techniques?I mean what all can I use transparents for,just to give it gloss or what?but thanks for the help